APA Logo

For Immediate Release: July 17, 2020

Keith P. McKeever | keith.mckeever@apa.ny.gov 
Public Information Officer | Adirondack Park Agency | Press Office | (518) 891-4050

APA and DEC Hold Joint Public Comment Period for Essex Chain Lakes UMP Amendment

RAY BROOK, NY - The Adirondack Park Agency (APA) and the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) are holding a joint public comment period to solicit comments for an amendment to the Essex Chain Lakes Management Complex Unit Management Plan.

Public comment will be accepted until August 14, 2020.

The Essex Chain Lakes Management Complex is located in the Towns of Indian Lake (Hamilton County) and Towns of Minerva and Newcomb (Essex County). The unit is approximately 19,600 acres in size; the land area was acquired by the State of New York and added to the Adirondack Forest Preserve in 2013. A Unit Management Plan for the area was adopted in March 2016.

DEC has completed a draft amendment to the 2016 plan. The amendment includes two proposals: 1) the removal of the ban on campfires at primitive tent sites in the management complex, and 2) the installation of additional facilities at the Outer Gooley site including an expanded parking area, outhouse, horse-mounting platform, hitching posts, and trailhead kiosks.

For more information, please download the proposed unit management plan from APAs website at: http://www.apa.ny.gov.

Please address all written comments related to the proposed management action to:

NYS Department of Environmental Conservation

Corrie Magee

Region 5 Warrensburg Sub Office, Division of Lands and Forests

232 Golf Course Road, Warrensburg, NY 12885

Phone: (518) 623-1200, E-mail: r5.ump@dec.ny.gov

Please address all written comments related to the proposed amendments conformance to the Adirondack Park State Land Master Plan to:

Richard Weber, Deputy Director for Planning

NYS Adirondack Park Agency

P.O. Box 99

Ray Brook, NY 12977

Email: SLMP_UMP_Comments@apa.ny.gov

Fax: 518-891-3938

All comments must be received by August 14, 2020.